free tracker

Seven Types Of Ambiguity

Pub Date : 2016-08-26 | Author : William Empson | Publisher : Read Books Ltd

ISBN 10 : 9781473351462
ISBN 13 : 1473351464

Many of the earliest books, particularly those dating back to the 1900s and before, are now extremely scarce and increasingly expensive. We are republishing these classic works in ..


Seven Types Of Ambiguity

Pub Date : 2004-12-16 | Author : Elliot Perlman | Publisher : Penguin

ISBN 10 : 9781101217337
ISBN 13 : 1101217332

Seven Types of Ambiguity is a psychological thriller and a literary adventure of breathtaking scope. Celebrated as a novelist in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen and Philip Roth, ..


Three Dollars

Pub Date : 2007 | Author : Elliot Perlman | Publisher : Riverhead Trade (Paperbacks)

ISBN 10 : 1594482381
ISBN 13 : 9781594482380

A republication of the long-unavailable debut fiction work by the author of Seven Types of Ambiguity follows the experiences of a man who struggles to come to terms with his place ..


Seven Modes Of Uncertainty

Pub Date : 2014-04-01 | Author : C. Namwali Serpell | Publisher : Harvard University Press

ISBN 10 : 9780674419681
ISBN 13 : 0674419685

Literature is uncertain. Literature is good for us. These two ideas are often taken for granted. But what is the relationship between literature's capacity to perplex and its ethic..


The Reasons I Won T Be Coming

Pub Date : 2006-12-05 | Author : Elliot Perlman | Publisher : Penguin

ISBN 10 : 9781440629228
ISBN 13 : 1440629226

The stories in this collection explore the complex worlds of lovers, poets, lawyers, immigrants, students, and murderers. They tell of corporate betrayals and lost opportunities, a..


The Lottery And Other Stories

Pub Date : 2005-03-16 | Author : Shirley Jackson | Publisher : Farrar, Straus and Giroux

ISBN 10 : 1429957840
ISBN 13 : 9781429957847

One of the most terrifying stories of the twentieth century, Shirley Jackson’s “The Lottery” created a sensation when it was first published in The New Yorker in 1948. "Power..


The Face Of The Buddha

Pub Date : 2016-06-09 | Author : William Empson | Publisher : Oxford University Press, USA

ISBN 10 : 0199659672
ISBN 13 : 9780199659678

The English poet, philosopher and literary critic William Empson considered 'The Face of the Buddha' to be one of his finest works. Drafted as he travelled throughout eastern and s..